More on the backlash to Glasgow University’s apology: Signatories who also signed the Miller support letter

David Collier recently wrote about the backlash following Glasgow University’s apology for publishing an antisemitic article in a peer review journal on the University website.  

550 signed a petition attacking the university. The 550 are mostly academics but they include a few ‘big names’ who are not.

David writes

All the usual names have signed the petition. Ilan Pappe, Nicola Pratt, Hilary Rose, Ronit Lentin, Ken Loach and so on. We know who signs these things.

There are a few ‘usual names’ to add to that list: Avi Shlaim, Brian Eno (!), David Landy, Nira Yuval-Davis, John Chalcraft, Jonathan Rosenhead, Justin Schlosberg, Kamel Hawwash, Mike Cushman, Rebecca Gould, Richard Cooper, Ronnie Kasrils, Saladin Meckled-Garcia, Geoffrey Bindman, Iain Chalmers, Teodora Todorova.

Bindman is a member of the Labour Party. He should now be expelled for aiding and abetting antisemitism. So should other signatories who are Labour members.

Peer Review‘ is worth sweet FA if the ‘Peers’ suffer from IDS (Israel Derangement Syndrome) and are aiders and abetters to antisemitism.

I analysed the list for correspondence with the list who signed support for David Miller. Here are the 62 names that appear on both petitions. Where I wrote about someone in my blogs on the Miller signatories, I have added the relevant hyperlink.

Ahdaf Soueif, Author, political and cultural commentator, Fellow Royal Society of Literature, Egypt
Anne Alexander, University of Cambridge
Antony Lerman, University of Southampton
Arun Kundnani, Independent researcher, USA
Camilla Royle, LSE
Carlo Morelli, University of Dundee
Chris Knight, University College London
Chris Roberts, University of Manchester
Christian Høgsbjerg, University of Brighton
Colin Green, University College London
Craig Brandist, University of Sheffield
David Hookes, University of Liverpool
Deepa Driver, University of Reading
Deepa Kumar, Rutgers University, USA
Dennis Leech, University of Warwick
Derek Summerfield, King’s College London
Desmond Freedman, Goldsmiths, University of London
Don Crewe, Leeds Beckett University
Eurig Scandrett, Queen Margaret University
Gareth Dale, Brunel University
Goldie Osuri, University of Warwick
Hagit Borer, Queen Mary University of London
Haim Bresheeth, SOAS, University of London
Hatem Bazian, UC Berkeley, USA
Ilan Pappé, University of Exeter
Jared Ball, Morgan State University, USA
Jawed Siddiqi, Sheffield Hallam University
Jay Ginn, University of Surrey
Jesse Hearns-Branaman, United International College, China
Judith Naeff, Leiden University, Netherlands
Julian Petley, Brunel University London
Julian Williams, University of Manchester
Les Levidow, The Open University
Mayssoun Sukarieh, King’s College London
Michael Pierse, Queens University Belfast
Michael Szpakowski, Independent researcher
Michael Wayne, Brunel University London
Milly Williamson, Goldsmiths, University of London
Moshé Machover, King’s College London
Muir Houston, University of Glasgow
Myka Tucker-Abramson, University of Warwick
Nacira Guenif, University Paris 8, France
Na’eem Jeenah, Afro-Middle East Centre, South Africa
Nalini Vittal, University College London
Noam Chomsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Oliver Boyd-Barrett, Bowling Green State University, USA
Patrick Bond, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Penny Green, Queen Mary University of London
Rasha Soliman, University of Leeds
Ray Bush, University of Leeds
Richard Jackson, University of Otago, New Zealand
Ronnie Kasrils
Sai Englert, Leiden University, Netherlands
Salim Vally, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Salman Sayyid, University of Leeds
Sean Wallis, University College London
Sharri Plonski, Queen Mary University of London
Steve Tombs, The Open University
Syksy Räsänen, University of Helsinki, Finland
Tom Hickey, University of Brighton
Yohai Hakak, Brunel University London
Yosefa Loshitzky, SOAS, University of London

Please consider donating through my
Patreon page. Every penny will go toward Israel advocacy and fighting antisemitism. Or by Paypal.